Steve Jenkins with Britney Spears

Pop legend Steve Jenkins returns home to launch book

Steve Jenkins with Britney Spears
Steve Jenkins with Britney Spears

A top music producer who had a hand in the careers of Britney, Kylie and Justin Timberlake is set to return to his Walsall roots for a major book launch.

Walsall Council host the launch of Steve Jenkins’ autobiography ‘The Future is in the History’ at New Art Gallery, Gallery Square, Walsall on Saturday April 28 at noon.

The music mogul also stages a meet the author session at Walsall library, Lichfield Street from 2.30pm on Thursday April 26 with members of the public urged to come along to both events.

Bloxwich-born Steve, who still has family connections in Leamore, was a pupil at Walsall Technology College and Joseph Leckie School, became MD of Jive Records after starting a career as a DJ in Walsall, Lichfield and Birmingham. He then joined the record industry with The Beatles management company in the 1970s.

His career has seen him his career has seen him awarded more than 260 platinum, gold and silver discs

Steve said: “No matter where I’ve been throughout my career I’ve always been hugely proud of being from Walsall.

“Being a DJ in Walsall as well as in Lichfield at Barnaby’s and Birmingham at places like Barbarella’s helped shape my understanding of what worked and what was popular that would help me in future years.  I was also a DJ at Hospital Radio Stafford which I’m very proud of.

“Now I’ve written my book launching it in Walsall before anywhere else feels the right thing to do and Walsall Council have been really supportive.

“It also feels like the right time to publish the book. So many acts I worked with are returning to the stage and 80s and 90s music seems to be wall-to-wall at the moment.

“What I hope people will take from the book is two things. Firstly, some of the stories behind the big names and records. People have always asked me about how I helped sign Britney Spears and what it was like to work with Pete Waterman, for example. This book tells them and lots of other things.

“But I’d also like people to be inspired to follow their own dreams like I did.”

Artists Steve helped work with include Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Back Street Boys, Steps, The Stone Roses, David Bowie, Bjork, The Prodigy, Groove Armada, Billy Ocean, Kylie Minogue and Simple Minds.

As well as a label boss Steve also worked to market and promote acts.

The book talks about growing up in Walsall in the 1950s and 1960s and talks of his DJ career which started at Pelsall Community Centre.

For four years running from 1999 to 2002 Steve led Jive Records to be the label of the year in the industry’s own Oscars The Brit Awards.

To buy the book log on at: http://amzn.to/stevejenkins.

To find out more information about Steve Jenkins career: http://www.stevejenkinsuk.com/home/

To follow the Facebook page log on at: https://www.facebook.com/SteveJenkinsTheFutureIsInTheHistory